Video Review: Jim Carrey’s “I Am The Walrus”

First of all, an apology to my one or two loyal readers for missing my blog post yesterday.  Won’t happen again, unless it does.  My penance as is follows:

TWO reviews today.

– A review of CBS’s new “sitcom” ¡Rob!, which is likely penance enough for the next twelve mistakes I make.

Now, on to today’s initial review…

—————–

BREAKING NEWS: Hollywood has stretched out the depths of its creative mind once more, approving a sequel that absolutely no one needs except the cash-hungry, unintellectual minds behind a major studio!  No, I’m not talking about Indiana Jones 4.  Or Pirates of the Caribbean 4.  (Or 3.  Or 2…)  Or Shrek 4.  (Or 3…)  Or Dumb and Dumber-er.  Or Son of the Mask.  Or either of the two Matrix movies.  Or any of the three Paranormal Activity sequels.  Or any of the Star Wars prequels.  Or Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer.  Or any of the Friday the 13th or Nightmare on Elm Street sequels.  Or…
(Have I made my point yet?  I feel like I’ve made my point.  Let’s move on before I get to Alvin and the Chipmunks and break my computer.)

Just like watching The Dark Knight, except the complete opposite of every single thing The Dark Knight stands for.

Anyway, Jim Carrey, who hasn’t had a big live-action hit since ???, is apparently going back to the Bruce Almighty well for a sequel to his 2003 blockbuster.  An amusing film, but nobody needs a sequel for this.  (Repeat after me: EVAN ALMIGHTY DOES NOT COUNT AS A SEQUEL.)  Upon hearing this news, I launched into a period of Jim Carrey nostalgia.  And I found myself reliving one of the most bonkers cover songs of all-time: Carrey’s version of The Beatles’ “I Am The Walrus.”
Yes, this actually happened.

Carrey recorded a version of the surrealist John Lennon-penned classic for George Martin’s 1998 compilation album In My Life.  Martin, the former legendary Beatles producer, put together an album featuring some of his favorite performers to pay tribute to The Beatles.  And what better way to do that than a duet between Robin Williams and Bobby McFerrin on “Come Together”, Goldie Hawn’s take on “A Hard Day’s Night”, and Sean Connery literally speaking the words to “In My Life”?
…all right, there are probably about 26,000 better ways.  You got me there.

“There are plashes…I remember.”

But to my utmost shock and surprise – this is actually mostly kind of pretty good.  Actually, forget the qualifiers – it is quite good.  Consider the following:
1. Jim Carrey can actually sing.  While most of the song is Carrey doing as many voices as possible, there are parts where he actually hits a note that you don’t think he can hit.  This is important.
2. We’re talking about “I Am The Walrus” here, not “Hey Jude” or “Let It Be”.  This is a ridiculously goofy song on the surface.  The chorus of the damn song is “I am the eggman, they are the eggman, I am the walrus, goo goo g’joob.”  I mean, WHAT?  (By the way, this still might be my second-favorite Beatles song.)  Was anyone better suited for this kind of manic energy and goofiness than Carrey in 1997, when this album was recorded?
3. Carrey knows how ridiculous this concept is – Jim Carrey singing a Beatles song – and totally embraces it.  Listen to the ending, where he screams “There!  I’ve done it!  I defiled a timeless piece of art!  For my next trick, I will paint a clown face on the Mona Lisa while using the Shroud of Turin as a drop cloth.”
The important thing to do here is not get caught up about Jim Carrey singing a song by the greatest band in musical history, but to realize the song, the situation, and just enjoy this.  And next time you listen to the actual Beatles version and hear the lyric “climbing up the Eiffel Tower,” good luck not saying the line “get down from there!” in your head.  This thing is damn catchy, and about one thousand times better than it has any right to be.
Grade: A-

2 responses to “Video Review: Jim Carrey’s “I Am The Walrus”

  1. Whoa! Don’t diss the Paranormal Activity sequels (Which by the way, there are only two of at this point. One more is in the process). Paranormal Activity was a fantastic film and the sequels easily rivaled the first. While the premise seems a bit tired in the 3rd installment, the second one manages to take an “unsequelable” (<look it up) film and weave the stories together with a stunning result. I just watched it for the second time the other night and was even more impressed than the first time I watched it.

    • Didn’t mean it as a diss to the quality of those films, though I can see why you would think of that way, because I lumped them in with other crappy sequels…anyway, my point is that nobody needed a Paranormal Activity sequel or three-quel, it’s just an easy way to make money. But they were well-reviewed, and for all I know are quite good. I loved the first.

Leave a Reply

